Home > Enlighten Me > Enlighten Me – I have question to ask

Enlighten Me – I have question to ask

Enlighten Me 

I have a question to ask

Every Sunday evening Kronedog talks about random topics expanding from real life experiences, book reviews, Q&A’s, Events, latest news, and discussion topics to get one thinking.

Hello everyone, and welcome to the first ever article to the new series “Enlighten Me.” Now I know this blog is a Warcraft blog and I’m a Warcraft/Gaming blogger. That aside, I decided to add this series because yes I like talking about WoW, I also like to express my opinions on a lot of different matters. In this series I will be covering a wide range of topics and also doing different types of reviews. For example, my first book review is going to be on the novel “Rise of the Horde.”

I might as well get started and dive into this. If your’e wondering why this articles main picture is of Adobe Premiere I’ll explain. You see, I was surfing the internet today (mostly other blogs) and I stumbled upon something. It’s a question really if anything but got me thinking.

What skill would you most like to learn in 2012? 

As I thought about this, I realized how great a question this is, especially at this time of the year. If you’ve been following me for any time you already know I also have a YouTube channel that I do my best to update weekly. Although as of late, I haven’t been able to meet that promise due to just plain laziness and limited video editing skills. So for 2012 I’ve made it my goal to take time everyday and learn more about Adobe Premiere (my preferred editing program) so my videos can grow in quality. Becoming a rather big YouTuber is a goal of mine. You can check out my channel at this link here: youtube.com/thekronedog

What’s great about this question is it really get’s you to think about your “goals” for the upcoming year. Many people make New Year’s resolutions but isn’t it something like 90% of those resolutions fail? Now, if you’re serious about making a positive change, the only way to do that is to work on yourself. What are your skills, abilities, talents? Also, remember to think about what your weaknesses are as well. Writing down on paper your weaknesses is something I’d strongly recommend. Writing something down that you know holds you back in aspects of your life is a powerful reminder that you can also improve on those weaknesses.

I’ll give an example from personal experience so you can see what I mean. I’ve believed myself to be a creative person all my life but ever since middle school (grades 6-8) I became a very insecure individual. I was constantly afraid of what others thought of me and desperately wanted EVERYONE to like me. Being confronted by others was a huge fear of mine. I’m a musician and always wanted to show my talents but became fearful of rejection if I attempted to go 100% with guitar. I was aware of this flaw in my character and did something about it. I tried being more social out with friends and in public, like actually talking to strangers for once. Taking small steps at a time helped myself grow to the point where I almost never worry about what anything says about it. I’ve learned not to take all things to heart, because realistically, you just can’t. Not everything everyone says is completely meaningful. Many people in our world say things out of spite, hate, rage, greed, lust, and more.

The end result of working on a skill or talent and mastering whatever that may be can be even more rewarding than anticipated. There is also no problem in wanting to work on multiple skills but as a safe reminder, it’s best to work on one project at a time and get as good as possible at it. Focus is key.

I hope you guys found this article somewhat interesting and different from the usual articles that go up here. Please comment and let me know what you think of this series. It’s much appreciated. New Necrotic Plague article coming tomorrow followed by the brand new Podcast on Tuesday, “The Kronedog Report.”

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

