Home > The Necrotic Plague > The Necrotic Plague: Season 11

The Necrotic Plague: Season 11

The Necrotic Plague

Season 11

Every Monday, Wednesday and Friday, Kronedog brings you The Necrotic Plague where the focus is Death Knight’s in current content. Always bringing you the latest DK updates, tips, and other DK related topics. 

First Thoughts

As of yesterday, Season 11 is live and going strong! I’ve already been privileged of farming a bunch of new Ruthless gear and also got my first Cataclysmic piece. So, judging by only two days of the new season, how are Death Knight’s going to play out for the rest of the epansion?

The answer… extremely well, especially in RBG’s. Currently, Frost has the capability of wrecking almost any class if they properly burst their target down. As for survivability, you’re going to have a harder time staying alive for extended periods if you’re without a healer. It’s just how it is.

Unholy on the other hand is different. Unholy just might be the strongest spec of patch 4.3. I tested out both Frost and Unholy in the Arena today. Keep in mind I was running 2’s with a Rogue for points but I also realized how much better Unholy is for surviving. Cool-downs like Anti-Magic Zone, AMS, IBF, LB healing, and even Death Strike are all ways for you to stay alive and win!

As Unholy there’s one thing you can do that other melee dps can’t normally do, and that is kite. Earlier I had a frost mage who kept cc’ing me non stop but I was able to keep spamming Death Coil from afar while my pet stayed on the mage no problem. Once I was out of the CC’s, I quickly followed up with a stun from my pet, followed by a strangulate and during that time frame he lost 80% of his health since I popped my burst macro as well.

Which spec should I roll?

2s Arena: 2h Unholy > 2h Frost > dw Frost (does not apply for pve)

The reason for choosing Unholy is simple, you have better mobility, great damage, ability to kite successfully, and better survival. I wouldn’t recommend going frost if your teammate is another DPS.

3s Arena: 2h Unholy = 2h Frost > Blood

Okay, 3’s are tricky when deciding what is better because there is a lot more comps to run and some are better than other.   I personally don’t believe Unholy nor Frost is better than one another in 3s and it comes down to play style and likability. As frost you can unleash massive burst but Unholy is more consistent.

Rated Battlegrounds

If you’re looking to own it up this season, DK’s are extremely popular for RBG’s because we typically always top the dps charts and total damage done. It’s just how it is and it’s here to stay (hopefully) the rest of the expansion. For any kind of BG I usually roll Frost because with multiple healers plus buffs, I’m unstoppable for the most part and wreck house. All DK’s in decent gear should be topping charts.

Last Words of Advice

Try not to get too discouraged if you’re on a losing streak. It happens. It happened to me today and my playing became sloppy due to rage ;D Also, your teammates probably don’t want to hear you raging over skype/vent, it can bring the group morale down which is never good. Stay positive and have fun because remember it is a game. Even though sometimes it feels much more than that 😀

~Kronedog

  1. January 5, 2012 at 8:38 pm

    Hey there, thank you for sharing your opinions in The Necrotic Plague: Season 11 thekronedog. This is really an awesome website.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

