Home > Enlighten Me > Enlighten Me: Drawing on Inspiration

Enlighten Me: Drawing on Inspiration

Every Sunday evening Kronedog talks about random topics expanding from real life experiences, book reviews, Q&A’s, Events, latest news, and discussion topics to get one thinking.

What is inspiration?

Merriam Webster’s Dictionary says: “a divine influence or action on a person believed to qualify him or her to receive and communicate sacred revelation”

So based on the dictionary description, inspiration is a very powerful thing. Inspiration is what drives us all to attain our goals, reach out to others, making a stand again’t something you believe in and more! So much can be accomplished when one is inspired.

Being inspired about something gives you not only strength, but courage as well if you truly believe in whatever it is that is inspiring you. I’ve been inspired by so many different people, places and things in life I can’t even keep track, and I’m sure it’s the same way for many others.

When I was about 14 years old, I became heavily influenced by legendary guitar players such as Jimi Hendrix, Slash, Eric Clapton, Eddie Van Halen, Steve Vai, Dimebag Darrell, and so many others. It became my dream to become an amazing guitarist like them and the inspiration behind that fueled my desires. The instruments no longer became tedious when learning new things but instead, something I love.

I should probably mention one thing. Inspiration can be lost. People lose passion for things they love everyday, or give up and lose that drive they once had. I know I’ve been there. It’s also very possible to lose inspiration, faith, drive, and more. I’m not a psychologist or anything but I do know that losing it can lead to serious depression.

So how do you stay inspired? How do you keep pushing forward when there seems to be no light at the end of the tunnel?

Becoming and Staying Inspired

Becoming

Becoming inspired can be either incredibly simple or it may seem impossible to be inspired by anything in life. It all depends on the person and current situation for the most part. Being open to new things, opportunities, and people is a great start. By being closed off from new ideas, you will have a hard time finding that drive to help power yourself through life.

Think about the things that make YOU happy, not anyone else. Write these things down on a piece of paper and keep that paper near you. Put it on your refrigerator, on your desk, or just anywhere where you know you’ll see the list every single day. Review your list every night before retiring and slowly your thoughts and ideas should begin shifting.

I’ll give an example of how I did it. When I got out of the Army exactly one year ago, I came out with no goals, no inspiration, and a closed mind. I saw everything in black and white. There was no medium. I made a personal list and I knew I always had a passion for gaming and wanted to share my love for games to the world. Thus the blog was born 4 months later. Don’t expect instant gratification. Although from time to time, people will experience an epiphany or something else powerful will occur in life driving one to go far.

Staying

Staying inspired can be a challenge all in itself. How does one stay on the same path until they reach their destination? I’ll tell you how. People who push the limits and experience happiness in what they do is because they believe 100% in what they do, believe in their cause, believe in others, and most importantly believe in themselves. When you become inspired by another person, like I did with Slash (Guns N’ Roses lead guitarist,) it’s okay to follow in their footsteps but only to an extent. Use that person, place, or thing as a leverage to push yourself further in your own life. The beauty in this is simple, FOLLOW YOUR OWN PATH. Everyone has a different route to take in life, though many can be similar. No one lives the same life as another, we are all unique in our own ways so don’t be afraid to be yourself and follow your own heart. That’s the beauty of the human race, because being your own unique self adds diversity which is what my country is built upon and I firmly believe in that just like I believe the fact that anyone can be inspired and accomplish amazing things. Life is too short to be miserable and have zero faith in anything.

~Kronedog

  1. December 13, 2011 at 10:56 am

    Greetings Im wanting to know if I may use this article on one of my blogs if I link back to you? Thanks

    • December 27, 2011 at 8:08 am

      Sorry it took so long to get back but yes you can link my blog on yours.

  2. January 8, 2012 at 12:50 pm

    As soon as I detected this web site I went on reddit to share some of the love with them.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

