Home > Enlighten Me > Enlighten Me: Finding Your Passion

Enlighten Me: Finding Your Passion

Enlighten Me

Finding Your Passion

Every week Kronedog talks about random topics expanding from real life experiences, book reviews, Q&A’s, Events, latest news, and discussion topics to get one thinking.

The Instrument

The guitar is a very special object/instrument to me and has been for over seven years. I’d also have to say I’ve dedicated more time to this instrument then anything else in life. When I first picked up the guitar, I was awful. Just horrible, I can’t really even begin to explain the frustrations I had learning to pick the correct strings. I wanted to bring this up because like anything in life, if you put your absolute most into something, there will be a nice return on the flip side. When I began playing, I had one goal in mind at the time: To be the best guitarist ever. Now, while things have certainly changed since I made that goal, it was the driving factor that helped me accelerate the learning process. This can go for anything. When you put your passion into something you will accomplish much greater things because your effort is where it counts. So if you’re putting all your time and dedication into something like learning an instrument, a school project, relationship, business deal, etc… you WILL reap the benefits.

How Your Passion Relates to the Law of Attraction

The Law of Attraction suggests that we attract everything into our lives, good and bad. So it would make sense when you’re passionate about something you’re going to attract similar people and things to you in correlation to whatever it is you’re passionate on. For example, when I began playing guitar, it overtook my life. The only thing I wanted was to be a better player, and explore the world of music. In return I was given the opportunity to go further with my dream and all my friends were on the same wavelength as me. When I made music and guitar the center of my life, everything else followed. Before I knew it I was at various concerts, playing in a band, had a group of friends all into the same music, and to top it all off, I was becoming quite good at guitar.

Losing the Spark

Just because you may have found that “thing” you love the most in life, doesn’t mean that fire will continue to burn brightly without your attention. I’ve experienced this exactly when my interest in guitar began to die about a year and a half ago. I was in the United States Army working as a Cavalry Scout and during my time in service, I let go of my dream. I began to stop caring and the once mighty fire became nothing but a small dying flame. It wasn’t until I was able to get my hands on a guitar for the first time in what seemed like years until I was able to bring the fire back to life. Through encouragement from others I picked the instrument and began improving my skills to the point where I had reached a whole new level of playing. It was a life lesson that I figured out way later. It is entirely possible to regain your passion(s) and go even further than you’ve ever imagined.

When someone tells you have a gift for something, don’t ignore them. Take all compliments in a humble manner because you definitely don’t want your ego to ruin a great thing.

Whats Your Skill?

I’m just curious to know what your skills are? What in life are you good at and you know you’re good at it? It’s good to dive into personal talents and explore them because you may be much more capable then you think. I know this rings true for me with the guitar example. When I started there were plenty of people who told me I should have just quit. I took that as motivation to prove them wrong which helped out even more in the long run.

It’s also entirely possible that you haven’t found that “thing” in life which is fine too. Don’t rush it because it will come to you in due time. The Law of Attraction isn’t known for being fast but if you focus on it, it will come.

~Kronedog

  1. January 27, 2012 at 5:46 am

    I played guitar in my 20s, then put it away because I had no teacher, no one to make music with, and felt I wasn’t progressing. Three years ago, I got a new acoustic/electric and began again with the basic chords. I found a great teacher and began to make tremendous progress, just over the past six months. I only got into it again because I love to sing and didn’t have an accompanist. Now I’m playing and singing with a band once a week, jamming with a couple of groups and learning to love practicing. It’s good for the gray cells, you know, all that motor skill work, memorizing, etc.

    I can relate to your statement about stoking the passion: just last night I was waiting to go onstage and feeling like walking out, just bored with it and maybe a little intimidated by all the talent around me. Definitely needed a recharge. My blog, http://worldslatestbloomer.wordpress.com was intended as a journal of my growth.

    In July I will be 70 years old, and I have no intention of stopping.

  2. February 15, 2012 at 9:36 pm

    I’d need to check with you here. Which isn’t one thing I normally do! I take pleasure in studying a publish that will make individuals think. Also, thanks for permitting me to comment!

  3. February 17, 2012 at 3:12 am

    I’m really enjoying the design and layout of your site. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more pleasant for me to come here and visit more often. Did you hire out a designer to create your theme? Exceptional work!

  4. February 17, 2012 at 3:42 pm

    It’s hard to seek out knowledgeable individuals on this topic, however you sound like you already know what you’re talking about! Thanks

  5. February 18, 2012 at 10:31 am

    If any one wants to be a successful blogger, afterward he/she must study this article, since it carries all techniques related to that.

  6. February 19, 2012 at 12:59 pm

    Your blog does not render properly on my iphone 3gs – you may wanna try and fix that

  7. February 20, 2012 at 3:16 pm

    I really like your writing style, fantastic information, thanks for posting : D.

  8. February 21, 2012 at 8:08 am

    I like to work on Personal home pages rather than .NET, although .NET gives the feature of drag and drop elements, except I like PHP much.

  9. February 24, 2012 at 11:58 am

    Hello! I know this is kind of off topic but I was wondering if you knew where I could get a captcha plugin for my comment form? I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having difficulty finding one? Thanks a lot!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

